Awkward Black Girl

My favorite Webseries is called the Mis-adventures of Awkward Black Girl and I am absolutely addicted! The serious follows the main character  J and her friends as she explores love, life, and experiences extremely awkward situations. Here is my attempt at writing a script for the series: 

INT. J’S CAR

J is jamming to some vulgar rap lyrics (trying to take her mind off of WHITE JAY) when CECE abruptly turns down the music.

CECE

J!

J continues to rap as if she did not hear CECE.

J

Bouncing in my booty shorts, booty shorts…!

CECE

(Screaming this time)

J! Just call him. I refuse to listen to your pathetic cry the whole ride.

J

Fine. Fine, Cece give me the phone.

J calls WHITE JAY’S cellphone but he does not answer. She calls him a second time and he finally picks up.

WHITE JAY

Hello? Hello?

J

JAY! It’s J, I’m so glad you answered.

WHITE JAY

I’m sorry, who is this?

J

This is J, I mean Jamie. This is Jamie. Actually, you know what funny story I think I called the wrong number.

CECE

Well, that didn’t go the way I expected.

J

You think? I can’t believe how awkward that was.

CECE

Forget him; soon we will be at the beach with tons of hotties. Shakin’ our groove thing girlfriend!

EXT. GAS STATION CONVIENENCE STORE

CECE AND J

(frantically yelling)

Excuse me, move! Coming through!

CECE

I vow to never drink three milkshakes on a road trip ever again!

CECE is the first to run into the single stall bathroom.

J spots WHITE JAY at the cash register with an unidentified woman.

J

(peeking through the potato chip rack)

Holy…What is he…Oh God can he see me?

J bangs on the bathroom door and pulls CECE out of the store.

CECE

What’s is your problem J? Can’t a girl use the bathroom in peace?

J

No! Not when WHITE JAY is standing 5 feet away from me in the store with someone else! Some stupid girl with her long luscious hair and long legs, laughing at his jokes. You are not even funny WHITE JAY.

J looks over to CECE

J

He’s not even funny!

CECE

I know, Lets just get out of here. You know, we are becoming masters at avoiding our coworkers.

INT. J’S CAR

CECE

STEP ON IT!

J, eager to get away puts her car into reverse instead of drive, crashing into the car in front of her.

J

Shoot!

J and CECE stare at each other with their mouths hanging open in shock. Without speaking they both get out of the car to check out the damage.

J

Oh…my…gosh!

J throws a baby temper tantrum.

CECE

You do have insurance right?

Silence

CECE

…Right J?

J

No, I mean yes I have insurance. But, I just crashed into WHITE JAY’S car.

CECE

Look at the scratch at the baby. Quick hand me your purse!

CECE rummages through the purse and pulls out some black nail polish.

J

What are you doing?

CECE

Shh, I got it. This is just a little something I saw on TV. Finish painting the scratch and I’ll go inside to distract him.

J

(talking to herself)

This is crazy, why do I do this to myself?

The scratch is almost covered up and J is feeling optimistic that she will get out of this situation.

She looks down to see a man’s foot on the ground beside her.

WHITE JAY

What in the world. J?

J looks up to see WHITE JAY and her coworker NINA in beach attire.

J

JAY! I…I can explain.

May 8, 2012. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

